Eastern Symbols


Eastern religion, philosophy and mysticism have a variety of important and profound symbols, many of which are revered by those on other spiritual paths as well. Here we illustrate and discuss important symbols from the wisdom teachings of the East, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism (http://www.byzant.com/biography/_showbiography.asp?ID=30) and Zen.


OM (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/om.html) is the highest name of God, the most venerable Hindu symbol of spiritual knowledge. Many traditions use the symbol for meditation, and its corresponding syllable as a powerful mantra.

OM (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/om.html)
Yin-Yang (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/yinyang.html)

Yin-Yang (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/yinyang.html) is a dynamic symbol representing the flow and interaction of the two polar energies whose totality encompasses creation. The spots in the symbol show that each energy at the height of its manifestation contains the seed of the other, into which it will transform.

The six points of the hexagram and the six syllables of the holiest mantra of Tibetan Buddhism ("OM Mani Padme Hum") together create a very powerful symbol (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/hexagrom.html) of balance, liberation and enlightenment.

HexagrOM (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/hexagrom.html)
Enso (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/enso.html)

Enso (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/enso.html) is Japanese for 'circle', and such a circle, painted in a single brushstroke, is a Zen symbol of the true nature of existence and enlightenment.

The beauty and antiquity of Chinese Symbols (http://www.byzant.com/symbols/chinese.html) make them attractive for meditative, decorative or talismanic use today. This section contains a number of important Chinese characters and includes the symbols for each of the Chinese astrological signs.