One of the alleged ''energy centers'' of the yogic system. Chakra is a Hindi term that literally means "wheel of energy." Chakras are visualized as wheels or vortices in the body's energy fields, and are said to be important in "channeling conciousness" and linking the physical and spiritual dimensions. They are located within the body in front of the spinal column and are aligned vertically up and down the spine in order to allow kundalini energy to travel from the base of the spine to the top of the forehead.

Chakras play a role in many alternative healing therapies. Some say chakras give off auras, the colors of which they claim can reveal the status of one's spiritual and/or physical health.

Major Chakras

Base (or root) chakra, or muladhara

Abdominal chakra, or swadhistana

Solar Plexus chakra, or manipura

Heart chakra, or anahata

Throat chakra, or vishuddi

Command chakra, or ajna

Crown chakra, or sahasra


The Crown Chakra - Seventh Chakra

Top of the head. Knowledge of the Universe is drawn, sense of unity and wholeness of all things

The Brow Chakra - Sixth Chakra

Forehead. The "Third Eye" future events, auras, penetrate higher realms

The Throat Chakra - Fifth Chakra

The throat.Communication, mental, written and oral skills.

The Heart Chakra - Fourth Chakra

The Chest. Wisdom, knowledge, love, let your heart guide you

The Solar Plexus Chakra - Third Chakra

The Navel. Movement, astral projection

The Spleen Chakra - Second Chakra

The Abdomen. Relations, identity, social interaction.

The Root Chakra - First Chakra

The Groin. Combines earthly and universal energies within the body.


Minor Chakras


The Hands Chakra

Located between the thumb and index fingers. Creative energy.

The Feet Chakra

Located at the arch of the foot. Connections to the Earth .